As the new school year begins, the Mississippi Department of Education, Office of Compulsory School Attendance Enforcement would like to remind area
parents about the law governing school attendance.
Under the Mississippi Compulsory School Attendance Law, parents and guardians are required to enroll their children in a public, private or home school. This law applies to children who have reached the age of 6 and have not exceeded the age of 17 by September 1.
Children who have attained or will attain the age of 5 years on or before September 1 and have enrolled in a full-day public kindergarten will be under the Compulsory School Attendance Law.
Parents interested in teaching their children at home (home school) are required to contact the school attendance officer in their area to complete a certificate of enrollment.
Any parent, guardian or custodian who fails to comply with the compulsory school attendance law may be fined up to $1,000 and/or jailed for violation of the compulsory school attendance law.
For more information contact Stacey Goss-Spiva at 662-779-2112 or 803-9277.