Category: News

CodeRED available to Winston residents

By Daniel Brunty The Winston County Journal Winston County Emergency Management Agency Director Buddy King and the Winston County Board of Supervisors are proud to announce the CodeRED emergency notification plan to assist with warning residents of severe weather is…

Jesse Hosket signs to play football for Southeast Missouri

By Austin Bishop Choctaw Plaindealer After a frustrating freshman year at Itawamba Community College in 2014, former French Camp Academy football standout Jesse Hosket transferred to East Central Community College for the 2015 season and found a home.

ECCC Students Selected for Who’s Who

These students at East Central Community College in Decatur were recently named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Community/Junior Colleges for 2015. Students were nominated by faculty and staff and are chosen based on academic achievement and involvement in…

Helping others in the season of giving

Members of Piney Grove United Methodist Church in Winston County recently collected items and packed 50 food boxes for those in need in the area. The boxes were provided to persons in Winston, Choctaw, Neshoba, Leake and Noxubbee counties.

East Mississippi Community College awards 375 diplomas to summer and fall graduates

East Mississippi Community College awarded 375 associate’s degrees and vocational certificates during two graduation ceremonies held Dec. 11 to honor its summer and fall graduates. The first ceremony, at 2 p.m., included graduates from EMCC’s Golden Triangle campus, Columbus Air…

New circuit judge named by the Governor for Winston, others

From Press Reports Gov. Phil Bryant has appointed George Mitchell Jr. of Eupora as Circuit Court Judge for the 5th Circuit Court District, which includes Webster, Attala, Carroll, Choctaw, Grenada, Montgomery and Winston counties.