Local Hotel tax passes, Ball wins reelection

Louisville voters or at least 809 of those voters chose to pass a 2 percent tax on hotels and motels.

The tax is projected to raise approximately $40,000 annually, which is earmarked for improvements to parks and recreation to benefit … Read more

MSU Bulldogs return to Omaha for CWS

From school reports


Mississippi State clinched its ninth appearance in the College World Series with a dramatic 6-5 win over No. 6 national seed Virginia Monday afternoon at Davenport Field to clinch the Charlottesville Super Regional.

With the victory, … Read more

Runway project a go for aldermen

By Daniel Brunty

The Winston County Journal


The City of Louisville Board of Alderman and the Louisville/Winston County Airport Board received great news concerning grants and bids for runway repair during the regular meeting on June 4.

Members of … Read more

County urges residents to post 911 addresses

From press and staff reports


City and county officials of Winston County are still trying to get the word out in regards to E-911 addresses being posted properly at their homes.

With little reaction to previous announcements and insistence … Read more

ECCC orientation and registration scheduled June 21

From press reports


New and transfer students planning to attend fall 2013 classes at East Central Community College in Decatur are encouraged to attend summer orientation/registration on Friday, June 21, announced Dr. Randall E. Lee, Vice President for Student … Read more


Mrs. Lucile Ray Downing

June 3, 2013

Funeral services for Mrs. Lucille Ray Downing, 93, were held at Salem Independent Methodist Church near Ackerman on Friday, June 7, 2013 at 2 p.m. Rev. Lynn Downing, Rev. Jim Reed, and Rev. … Read more

Winston County Extension Service offers classes

From press reports


The Winston County Extension Service will be offering the following programs for the months of June and July, Arts & Craft, Character Counts, Science Experiments, Kids in Kitchen, and Financial Management. You must call the Extension … Read more

Eiland Middle Honor roll

The following students at Eiland Middle School maintained academic excellence throught the 2012-2013 school year. Amaya Glass, Taylor Hall, NyShae Haynes, Alicia Hopkins, Eric Humphries, Ayana Taylor, Nicholas Triplett, Umunique Waldrip, Savannah Watkins, Andrew Coleman, Keyasha Edwards, Markiaa Eiland, Stephanie Hayes, Jeneshyia Ingram, Devon Lee, Michael McDonald, Zaire Wragg, and Jadea Shannon.  Craig Carter recieved Eiland Middle School’s citizenship award.

2nd Semester Honor Students

Special Distinction

Keyasha Edwards

Markiaa Eiland

Amaya Glass

Nyshae Haynes

Alicia Hopkins

Eric Humphries

Nicolas Triplett

Savannah Watkins

Taylor Hall


Alundra Davenport

Asia Eichelberger

Stephanie Hayes

Jeneshyia Ingram

Diana Richardson

Jadea Shannon

Eric Sudduth

Alexius … Read more