Pet of the week


This is Oreo. She is 6 years old, and the owner had to give her up. She will not eat if she is in her kennel so she stays out in the office. She is spayed and is rather large … Read more

Fulton prepares for 104th birthday

From press reports


Walton Fulton will be celebrating his 104th birthday on Sunday, July 28 from 2-4 pm at Rocky Hill United Methodist Church. He was born on July 25, 1909, to Charles Dillard and Ida Price Fulton and … Read more

WMC, Noxapater officials discuss clinic

Winston Medical Center CEO Lee McCall (center) shows a floor design on his smartphone for a clinic with architects Arjen Lagendijk (left) and Don Delaney (right). McCall met with Noxapater officials to discuss the possibility of using the old Noxapater City Hall for the purpose of a medical clinic for the town and its surrounding areas.

By Daniel Brunty

The Winston County Journal


Winston Medical Center is continuing with its strategic plan on providing all of Winston County and its surrounding areas with health care. Another step in this direction was a meeting of WMC … Read more

ECCC’s Phi Beta Lambda students receive National Honors

East Central Community College’s Phi Beta Lambda chapter received various honors at the 2013 National PBL Conference held in Anaheim, Calif. Award-winners and other conference participants included (front row, from left) Tanner Fortenberry of Union, fourth place, Small Business Management Plan and Mississippi’s representative to Who’s Who in Phi Beta Lambda; Chelsea Gilmer of Philadelphia, fifth, Free Enterprise Project; Ashleigh Savage of Union, fifth, Free Enterprise Project and 14th, Integrated Marketing Campaign; Yashica Ickom of Lake, selected Mississippi PBL Vice President; Timmie Ivey Wiggins of Little Rock, fourth, Small Business Management Plan; and Haleigh Graham of Sebastopol,14th, Integrated Marketing Campaign; and (back row, from left) Jessie Boatner of Philadelphia, fifth place, Free Enterprise Project; Cindy Burnside of Decatur, seventh, Local Chapter Annual Business Report; Denzel Clemons of Philadelphia, fourth, Small Business Management Plan; and Latoya Steele of Louisville. Fortenberry is the third EC student to be chosen as Mississippi’s Who’s Who award recipient. The outstanding students were accompanied by PBL advisers Christy Ferguson, business technology instructor; and Thomas Fortenberry, computer network support technology instructor. (Submitted Photo)

Several students representing the Phi Beta Lambda Chapter at East Central Community College in Decatur received various honors at the 2013 National PBL Conference held in Anaheim, Calif.

Award-winners included Denzel Clemons of Philadelphia, Timmie Ivey Wiggins of Little Rock … Read more

ECCC Workforce Development offers ‘Electrical Theory’ Class

An “Electrical Theory Class,” consisting of the Principles of AC and DC electricity used for power and controls in industrial, commercial, agricultural and residential applications is being offered at ECCC’s Integrated Technologies Training Center (ITTC) located in Choctaw. The training … Read more

Hibbett Sporting Goods opens in Louisville

From press reports


– National sporting goods retailer Hibbett Sporting Goods, Inc. operating as Hibbett Sports has opened its newest store in Louisville, MS. The new store opened at 532 North Church Avenue in North Church Square on Friday, … Read more


Infant Arthur Wayne Freeman, Jr.

Infant Arthur Wayne Freeman, Jr. passed away on Tuesday, July 16, 2013, at his residence in Louisville, Mississippi.  Visitation was at Good Hope Baptist Church in Louisville, on Saturday, July 20, 2013, from 9 a.m. … Read more

Child dies in accident

From press reports


A three-year-old child has died after apparently being struck by a vehicle Friday, July 19.

The accident happened around 3:30 p.m. Friday at a home on Estes Road in the county.

The child, Jaylen Jones, was … Read more

Winston Medical Center sponsoring art contest

Winston Medical Center is hosting an Art Contest for a t-shirt design for the annual healthfair that will be held on September 24, 2013. Any person of any age may submit a artwork design to be voted on by the … Read more