ECCC and Co-Lin tennis squads split decisions

After several delays due to inclement weather, East Central Community College’s tennis teams begin season action by hosting Copiah-Lincoln Community College Monday, Feb. 17 on the Decatur campus.

The Warriors were victorious by a 5-4 margin and Lady Warriors dropped a 6-3 decision.

In men’s singles, EC winners were Javon Yarbrough of Louisville, who defeated Graham Watson, 6-2, 6-2; Brandon St. Clair of Newton County High School, who beat Brandon Nettles, 6-2, 6-4; and Tanner Moore of Winston Academy, a 6-4, 6-1 victor over Josh Smith.

In other results, Juan Miranda of Morton fell to Dwain Perkins, 5-7, 6-3 (10-6); Daniel Giles of Union lost to Brock Smith, 4-6, 6-3 (10-6); and Ethan Rigdon of Union was clipped 6-4, 6-4 by Coleman Carraway.

Capturing wins in men’s doubles were Miranda and Giles, who defeated Perkins/Watson, 9-8 (7-5); and Yarbrough and Moore, who posted an 8-5 decision over Brock Smith and Josh Smith.

EC winners in women’s singles include Amber Pierce of Leake Academy, who beat Savannah Brister, 2-6, 6-4 (10-2); and Nan Hartness of Winston Academy, who defeated Carlianne Alderman, 6-0, 6-4.

In the other results, Hannah Peoples of Winston Academy fell to Courtney Watts, 6-1, 6-4; Alana Turner of Florence lost to Melody Smith, 6-3, 6-4; Hannah Smith of Leake Academy dropped a 6-1, 6- 2 decision to Erika Dear, and Laura Peterson of Forest fell to Allie Dear, 6-0, 6-2.

Peoples and Hartness teamed to win their doubles match with Brister and Alderman by an 8-5 score.

In other results, Turner and Pierce fell 8-5 to Watts/Smith, and the Patrick/Smith team dropped an 8-6 decision to Alderman and Carly Riley.

The Warriors and Lady Warriors travel to Jones County Junior College Tuesday, Feb. 18.

Dianne O’Neill serves as ECCC tennis coach.