ECCC Participants at Capitol Day

Administrators, faculty members and students representing East Central Community College in Decatur were among participants at Capitol Day held Feb. 25, 2014, at the Mississippi Legislature in Jackson. The annual event is sponsored by the Mississippi Faculty Association for Community and Junior Colleges (MFACJC) to voice support for the state’s 15 community and junior colleges and their efforts to achieve Mid-Level funding. ECCC representatives are shown with area legislators following a press conference in the Capitol Rotunda. Front row, from left, are State Rep. Mike Evans of Preston and ECCC students Zachary Allen and Teylor Martinez (featured student speaker at press conference), both of Louisville; Joseph Aulds of Decatur; Leah Ferguson of Philadelphia; Jenna Lovern of Louisville; and Yashica Ickom of Lake; and State Rep. Randy Rushing of Decatur. Back row, from left, are Dean of Athletics/Personnel Services Chris Harris; faculty members Wanda Hurley and Lynn Selman; ECCC President Dr. Billy Stewart; faculty member Sherri Cliburn; Vice President for Instruction Dr. Teresa Houston; and faculty member Christy Ferguson.

eccc capitol