ECCC Phi Theta Kappa receives awards

Members of East Central Community College’s Theta Xi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of the two-year college, are shown displaying awards received during the annual Mississippi/Louisiana Region competition held March 21-23 at Jones County Junior College in Ellisville.

ECCC PTK Region Awards_4560Theta Xi was named a Five Star Chapter, received a first place award for Honors in Action Theme 6 and ninth place overall for the Honors In Action category; second place in College Project for Team Twocan, a mentoring project at Lake Elementary; and fourth place for Distinguished Chapter in the region. In addition, Jacob Oliver of Little Rock was named to the prestigious Order of the Golden Key and Zach Allen of Louisville, Theta Xi President, was elected Region President. Advisors Chris Ryals, Jenna Wright and Amanda Walton also received the Horizon Award for Advisors. Theta Xi competed again 43 chapters in the Mississippi/Louisiana region. Pictured are (from left) Kristen Gordy, Vice President for Fellowship, and Jenny Grove, Vice President for Service, both of Forest; Lauren Cantey of Collinsville, Vice President for Leadership; Allison Johnson of Philadelphia, reporter; Oliver; Allen; Amber Williams of Morton, Vice President for Scholarship; Mary Margaret Bailey, outgoing Theta Xi President, and Bridgette McFarland, webmaster, both of Philadelphia. Also pictured is advisor Chris Ryals.