Municipal elections gain first candidates

From staff reports

Candidates began qualifying Wednesday, January 2 to run in upcoming municipal elections in Winston County.

The deadline to qualify is March 8.

Party primaries take place May 7 with runoffs on May 21 if needed. The general election occurs June 4.

Louisville will elect the Mayor, Alderman-At-Large, Alderman Ward 1, Alderman Ward 2, Alderman Ward 3, Alderman Ward 4 and City Clerk.

Noxapater will elect Mayor and five aldermen.

Candidates must be registered voters living in a municipal boundaries. Candidates for aldermen must live in the ward in which they run.

A $10 fee is required for Republican or Democratic Party candidates.

To qualify as an independent candidate, residents must submit a petition signed by 50 registered voters of the city. Independent candidates will appear on the general election ballot.

As of Tuesday, January 8 at 8 a.m, those who have registered in Louisville are incumbent Mayor Will Hill, incumbent Alderman-At- Large Francis Ball, incumbent Alderman Ward 1 Richard Caperton, incumbent Alderman Ward 2 Judy McLeod, incumbent Alderman Ward 3 Gwenita Mays, incumbent Alderman Ward 4 Eugene Crosby and incumbent City Clerk Babs Fulton.

In the Noxapater election, registered for the ballot so far are Sammy Carter for Mayor and Jessie Hudson for Alderman.

Visit for more information.