Left to right is Michael Dotson, Gwenita Mays, and Aubrey Ray.

Aubrey Ray, Employer Outreach Director of Mississippi Employer Support of the Guard and Reserves, presents Gwenita Mays, of the Louisville Walmart Super Center Store, a Patriotic Employer award for her support as an employer of the Guard and Reserve. Gwenita … Read more

UDC holds monthly meeting

Woodruff speaks to the group.


On January 5, 2015, the Winston Guards 2643 UDC held their monthly meeting at Lake Tiak O’Khata.

Following the meal, President Frances Woodruff presented the Historian General’s program for the month on “Lee’s Fighting Tigers.”

General Robert E. Lee … Read more

Doors of Hope recognizes Wal-Mart for contributions

Guyse gives Wal-Mart manager Cindy Schott certificates of award for their contributions.

From staff reports

The Doors of Hope Center which has helped over 450 Winston County residents fight hunger recently recognized Wal-Mart for their contributions to the program.

Rev. Lorene Guyse, the founder and administrator of Doors of Hope recognized the … Read more

Red Coat Day held at the Capitol



Winston County Republican Women participated with Republican Women across the state in Red Coat Day at the Capitol. Dean Watkins, local president, and members

Shirley Hawkins, Jane Wood, Kay Ward, and Tracey Verry participated in the activities.

Republican Women … Read more

ECCC Alumni Board Making Plans for 2015 Events

Seated from left are ECCC staff members Misty Smith, 2014-15 faculty club president, and Dr. Teresa Houston, vice president for instruction; Dayna Morgan, Neshoba County representative; Jeanette Thrash of Decatur, Alumni Association president; Ann Burkes of Decatur, Newton County representative; and Dr. Stacey Hollingsworth, executive director for Foundation and Alumni Relations. Standing from left are Pete Lucovich of Carthage, Leake County representative; Paul Chamblee, Association secretary; Bruce Lee of Louisville, Winston County representative; Harvey Trapp of Decatur, Newton County representative; Dr. Bob Tom Johnson of Forest, Association past president; Dr. Randall Lee, ECCC vice president for student services; ECCC President Dr. Billy Stewart; and Jerald Everett of Clinton and Bart Gregory of Starkville, both out-of-district representatives. Dr. Stewart also addressed the group and provided an update.

The East Central Community College Alumni Association Board recently held its spring semester meeting on the Decatur campus. Topics of discussion included the annual MS Community College Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, scheduled Tuesday, April 28, 2015, at the … Read more