WA recognizes Star Student, Star Teacher, Val and Sal

Ward and Woodruff

From press reports

Andrew W. Woodruff son of William Marc and Callie Woodruff has been named as STAR (Student-Teacher Achievement Recognition) Student for the 2014-2015 school year by the Mississippi Economic Council’s M.B. Swayze Foundation, sponsor of the STAR program. … Read more

Forward thinking helps navigate legal waters

By Nathan Gregory
MSU Ag Communications

STARKVILLE, Miss. — Older Americans, along with their caregivers and families, can better navigate legal and financial waters related to aging by making appropriate plans, protecting their identities and being aware of scams.

Creating … Read more

Farm Bureau awards scholarships

From press reports

Winston County Farm Bureau awarded $500 scholarship to each of the following students.

Mary Cannon Yarbrough of Winston Academy, daughter of Paige and Steven Yarbrough was one receipent.

She plans to attend Mississippi State University in the … Read more

Winston Guards 2643 UDC chapter holds meeting

JoAnn Agent was guest speaker at the May meeting of the Winston Guards 2643 UDC.  She compared the 1860s to the present day.


The Winston Guards 2643 UDC chapter held its last meeting for the year 2014-2015 on May 4 at Lake Tiak O’Khata. Hostesses were Carolyn Mills and Teresa Ingram.

The guest speaker was Mrs. JoAnn Agent. Mrs. Agent’s program was … Read more

Caregivers should manage stress, balance other duties

By Susan Collins-Smith
MSU Ag Communications

RAYMOND, Miss. — Caring for an aging loved one can be overwhelming, especially when balancing the task with family obligations, work and self-care.

The challenges caregivers face are different for everyone and depend on … Read more

2015 Red Hills Car Show


The Red Hills Festival Car Show of 2015 was the best car show in Festival history with 126 entries and some of the most beautiful cars and and trucks you can imagine. There were some unusual vehicles like the County … Read more

WLCTC honors students

From staff reports

The Winston-Louisville Career and Technology Center recently held their annual awards banquet at Lake Tiak-O’Khata. James Robert Webb, the Career and Technology Director welcomed everyone.… Read more