Registration deadline for presidential primary upcoming

From Staff & Press Reports

Mississippi’s presidential primary is seven weeks away and those needing to register to vote in the election have until Feb. 6 to do so.

The Winston County circuit clerk’s office will be open Saturday, Feb. 6, from 8 a.m. until noon for those people wishing to register to vote. This will be the last day to register to vote for the presidential Super Tuesday primary scheduled for March 8.

Eligible but unregistered voters must complete a voter registration form with the circuit clerk’s office or through the mail by downloading the form from the secretary of state’s website ( and mailing it to the Winston County circuit clerk.

Voters who are overseas or serving in the military outside their home state may fill out an absentee ballot. The Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act provides for certain provisions to assist voters in these categories to receive and return their absentee ballot in time to be counted on Election Day.

State law requires the secretary of state’s office to determine the list of generally recognized presidential candidates to be placed on the presidential primary election.

This year’s generally recognized Democratic candidates are Hillary Clinton, Martin O’Malley and Bernie Sanders.

The generally recognized Republican candidates for this year’s presidential primary are Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Ted Cruz, Carly Fiorina, Lindsey Graham, Mike Huckabee, John R. Kasich, George Pataki, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Rick Santorum and Donald J. Trump.

Congressional race
The 2016 Candidate Qualifying List for the state of Mississippi is also listed on the secretary of state’s website. Pursuant to statute, the state Board of Election Commissioners must determine whether each independent candidate and political party nominee meets the qualifications for office before his or her name being placed upon the ballot for the 2016 general election.

Political party candidates qualify with the respective political party and are listed as submitted to the secretary of state’s office.

Qualifying for this year’s congressional races concluded Jan. 8. U.S. Rep. Trent Kelly of Saltillo, who represents Winston County in the 1st District, is being challenged in the March 8 Republican primary by Paul Clever of Olive Branch. Kelly seeks his first term after winning a 2015 special election to fill the seat vacated by the death of Congressman Alan Nunnelee.

Jacob Owens of Booneville is unopposed in the March 8 Democratic primary for the 1st District seat. He will face the winner of the Republic primary in the Nov. 8 general election along with Reform Party candidate Cathy L. Toole and Libertarian Chase Wilson.

Keep in mind that a change of address since last voting should be reported to the circuit clerk’s office and that voters must present a valid photo ID when they go to the polls.