Republican primary heads to run off June 24

By Joseph McCain
The Winston County Journal

With the unofficial results from all 12 precincts in Winston County from the June 3 Primary Election, residents choose in the most heated race long-serving Thad Cochran over challenger Chris McDaniel. These results do not include provisional ballots. All results are unofficial.
Cochran, Republican incumbent candidate for U.S. Senate, carried Winston County in the June 3 Primary election. He received 54.94 percent of the votes while challenger McDaniel received 44.22 percent. Republican candidate Thomas L. Carey received less than 1 percent of the vote. Of the 1660 Republican votes cast Cochran received 912, McDaniel 734 and Carey 13.
Not only was the race close in the county, the statewide race betweenCochran and McDaniel will be decided in a run-off to be held on June 24 (to avoid a runoff, a candidate must receive more than 50 percent of the vote).
Other races taking place duringthe Primary were the U.S. Senate seat on the Democratic side. Carrying the county in votes in this race was Travis W. Childers with 86.96 percent of the vote. He was followed by William Bond Compton with 7.83 percent of the vote. Bill Marcy and Jonathan Rawl both carried about two percent each.
In the 1st Congressional District-Democrat race, Ron E. Dickey carried the county with 74.79 percent of the vote, followed by Rex N. Weathers with 24.7 percent of the vote. In the 1st Congressional District-Republican race, Alan Nunnelee ran unopposed.
The run-off between Cochran and McDaniel will be held on June 24.
Other Runoff information:

  • The 2014 Primary Runoff Election will be held on June 24, 2014 (Miss. Code Ann §23-15-305)
  • Polls are open from 7 am to 7 pm.
  • Citizens must have been registered for the June 3, 2014 Primary Election to be eligible to vote in the June 24, 2014 Primary Runoff Election.
  • If an eligible voter did not participate in the June 3rd Primary Election, the voter may vote in either the Democratic or Republican Primary Runoff.
  • The State of Mississippi does not allow “crossover” voting.  Meaning, if a voter cast a ballot in the Democratic Primary, he/she must cast a ballot in the Democratic Primary Runoff.  If a voter cast a ballot in the Republican Primary, he/she must cast a ballot in the Republican Primary Runoff.  (Miss. Code Ann §23-15-575)
  • Uniformed and Overseas ballots have been transmitted in accordance with State and Federal law.
  • Post Election Deadlines:
  • Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann will release the number of affidavit ballots cast by voters during the June 3, 2014 Primary Election because they did not present acceptable photo ID at the polls on Wednesday, June 11, 2014 at 1:30 pm in Room 105 of the State Capitol. Secretary Hosemann will also release the number of individuals who did not return within five (5) business days to present acceptable photo ID for their vote to be counted. ·
  • June 13, 2014:  Deadline for the State Party Executive Committees to submit certified results to the Secretary of State’s Office.  (Miss. Code Ann §23-15-599)