Sammie Carter reelected in Noxapater

From staff reports

The town of Noxapater held its June 6 general election with a turnout of 74 voters.
Incumbent Noxapater Mayor Sammy Carter won reelection with 59 votes to Sharon Strickland’s 15 votes. This was Strickland’s first time to run for office. All five Noxapater aldermen sought re-election without any opponents which means all will serve another four-year term. The aldermen are: Chris Wells, Lana Deese, Tommy Bartholomew, Brian Burrage, and Robert Wall.
The City of Louisville municipal elections were decided in the primaries and the primary runoff.
Louisville Incumbent Mayor Will Hill ran unopposed, and has served as Mayor since 2009.  Only one new person was added to the Louisville Board which was in Ward 1 Alderman Drew Massey. Ward 1 alderman Richard Caperton did not seek reelection. The restof the board won reelection: Ward 2 Alderman:  Judy H. McLeod;  Ward 3 Alderman:  Gwenita Mays;   Ward 4 Alderman:  Eugene Crosby; and Alderman At Large, Frances S. Ball.
The aldermen and Mayors for Louisville and Noxapater will be sworn in with the first regular meeting in July.
Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann says typically only one third of eligible voters in Mississippi participate in municipal elections.