School board and members receive state recognition

From staff reports


The Louisville Municipal School Board and 2 of its board members were recently honored by the state for their contributions to the local school district.

The Mississippi School Board Association bestowed these honors to the local board and its members at the Tuesday, November 15th Awards Luncheon during MSBA’s Fall Leadership Conference in Jackson.

The board as a whole was given the Gavel Circle Honor Award. The award recognizes the board for a Minimum 12 hours of training for MSBA core modules, a MDE District Rating of A, B, or C and the Adoption of MSBA governance standards. The Gavel Circle Honor Award is the second highest award for a board at the conference and only one District had more hours: Desoto County School District .

Board members recognized were Sheila Hickman with 47 hours of training under her belt and Brenda Johnson with 44 hours of training. Both were in the top 20 of members with training hours with the top person with 50 hours.

“The students and staff of the LMSD have an outstanding board going above and beyond their duties to insure our students get an outstanding education. They sacrifice daily to improve educational opportunities for each and every student. As superintendent I am very excited about the direction our district is going thanks to their leadership,” said LMSD Superintendent Ken McMullan. “Our board doesn’t get a lot of the credit it deserves.”

The LMSD board of trustees is comprised of president Mark Dillard, President, Brenda Johnson, Vice President Sheila Hickman, Secretary Jacqueline Steele, Assistant Secretary Bobby Pierce, Member.

Jacqueline Steele was elected Nov. 8 to replace Kathy Edwards who did not seek reelection.