Seniors honored at WA Awards Ceremony

From staff reports


Adding to a long list of academic achievers in its past, Winston Academy held their Academic Awards Ceremony on April 25 on the school’s campus.

Starting off the event was a welcome from the school’s Headmaster Farrell Rigby. After an invocation from 2012-13 Student Body President Alex Bucklew, the Winston Academy faculty & staff presented the academic awards.

Receiving the honor of Salutatorian for the school’s Class of 2013 was Danielle Hollingsworth. Hollingsworth also received other numerous awards, including Star Student, Hall of Fame, Citadel Co-Editor, English, Social Studies/History, and French Highest Scholastic Average.

Receiving the honor of Valedictorian for the school’s Class of 2013 was Jenna Lovorn. Lovorn also received awards including Hall of Fame, Mathematics, and Science.

Others receiving academic awards were Abi Barnes (French), Zachary Allen (Hall of Fame, WA Citizenship Award), Kelly Brown (Latin, Computer), Madelyn Peterson (Hall of Fame, WA Citizenship Award), Brody Richardson (Gazette Editor, Citadel Co-Editor), Colton Horne (Hall of Fame), Bryan Burton (Hall of Fame), Colby Mitchell (Hall of Fame), Mallory Griffith (Hall of Fame).

The DAR Good Citizen Award was presented to Mallory Griffith.

The Woodman of the World A.M. History Award was presented to D.K. Boydstun. This was followed with the HOSA Awards and Recognition.

Recipients of the Honors Society recognition were Zachary Allen, Abi Barnes, Kelly Brown, Alex Bucklew, Bryan Burton, Mallory Griffith, Danielle Hollingsworth, Colton Horne, Jenna Lovorn, Colby Mitchell, Samantha Morgan, Madelyn Peterson, and Brody Richardson.

Up next was the presentation of the Wendy’s Heisman School Winners, which were Colton Horne and Jenna Lovorn.

The recognition of the 2013 Honor Students was next. Those receiving the award were Victoria Quinn, Samantha Morgan, Madelyn Peterson, Danielle Hollingsworth, Bryan Burton, Colton Horne, Brody Richardson, Alex Bucklew, Mallory Griffith, Colby Mitchell, Abi Barnes, Kelly Brown, Jenna Lovorn, and Zachary Allen.

Receiving the award for Star Student was Zachary Allen who selected as Star Teacher History/French teacher Beverly S. Ballard. Also recognized were the 2011-12 Student Body President and Vice President Alex Bucklew and Colby Mitchell. They led up to the introduction of the 2012-13 Student Body President and Vice President, which were D.K. Boydstun and Ashlee Bane.

The next portion of the program was the presentation of the scholarships and other rewards. Recipients of scholarships include: four for the University of Mississippi, four for Mississippi State University, one for Delta State University, 20 for East Central Community College, one for East Mississippi Community College, Jenna Lovorn received the Farm Bureau scholarship, Zachary Allen and Jenna Lovorn received the Mayor’s Youth Council recognition, Jamie Kinard received the Pilot Club award, Bryan Burton received Plum Creek Scholarship, Abi Barnes received theWilkes Scholarship, Ellen Joyner (Roseburg Forest Products Scholarship), Madelyn Peterson (Bridgebuilders Scholarship), Colton Horne (Dan’s Discount Drugs), Jenna Lovorn (Grand Lodge of Miss. Scholarship), Victoria Quinn (Gulf States), Samantha Morgan (Rotary Club), and Madelyn Peterson (Andy Woods Memorial Scholarship).

The evening wrapped with the last award of the night, The Patriot Award. Receiving this honor was Madelyn Peterson.

Winston Academy would like to congratulate their Class of 2013.