Winston County Chiefs wins district and state

Submitted Leslie Loving

The Winston County Chiefs 11-12 year old team, of Louisville MS, has had a successful football season. During this 2012 they received three championship titles. As the regular season came to an end on October 6, the Chiefs went into the playoffs as the number three team in the league. On October 27, the Chiefs became the 2012 Northeast Division Champions; as they defeated the Starkville Cowboys 11-12 team with the winning score 8-6.

Round two of the Championship: On Sunday, November 4, 2012, The Powerhouse Youth Football Association sponsored the “2012 Superbowl Sunday”, which was held at the East Mississippi Community College Football Stadium, in Scooba, MS. The Chiefs opponent team was the Starkville Raiders 11-12 team, who was ranked the number one team in the Northwest Division. The Chiefs was crowned Superbowl Champions, as they triumphantly won against the Raiders with the score of 8-6.

Onward to the State Championship: On Saturday, November 10, 2012, The Powerhouse Youth Football Association, and the Premier Youth Football League joined together and formed the Southeastern State-Grand Superbowl Championship. The Vicksburg Packers hosted to the Winston County Chiefs. The Vicksburg Packers was an undefeated team in their league, and as they meet up against the Chiefs they were defeated 20-6, giving the Chiefs the State-Grand Superbowl Championship title.

The Chiefs 11-12 Players are: Tequavious Braggs, Ashanti Cistrunk , Trent Davis, Kedarius Dixon, Derrion Dora Austin Ellingburg, Le`Marcus Fleming, Pervis Frazier, Michael Foster, Daylen Gill, Antorus Glenn, Marcus Glenn, Tylan Glenn, Angelo Hall, Jarrod Hannah, Adrian Harris, Demetrious Harris, Alvius Haynes, DeQuarrius Haynes, Javonte` Haynes, Elvondrick Idom, Kelsey Ingram, Rodquan Jackson, William Jones, Kenneth Knowles, Charles Moore, Victor Mosley, Kenneth Spiva Jr., Kemale Triplett, Caleb Warren, Deonte` Yarbrough, Timothy Yarbrough

The Chiefs 11-12 Coaching Staff: Zed Cistrunk, Michael Frazier, LeVarski Haynes, Bernis Hoskins (Head Coach), and Charlie Miller