Winston County Voters League continues to improve community

Submitted by Claudell Weaver

The League was organized in April 1966 by Reverend Ollie Daily who was born December 31, 1900. Rev. Daily worked with many early civil rights workers during the 1960’s. He died in an automobile accident on July 30, 1973 while returning from one of many trips to Jackson trying to organize a NAACP Chapter in Winston County. Four years later on April 18, 1977 a charter was granted by the national office. The League was incorporated in 1997 under the presidency of Claudell Weaver who served as president from 1984 until 1999. Accomplishments of the League are: On-going project to improve Dean Park Partnered with others in a lawsuit for 2 majority black districts Successfully negotiated with the NAACP and Louisville officials that led to changes from at-large wards to 2 majority black wards. This change strengthened the “one man one vote” law Sponsored candidate forums for a strong slate of candidates pursuing local political office Sponsored the Annual Juneteenth Day Festival since 1984. This event celebrates the Emancipation Proclamation when slaves in Galveston, Texas heard of their freedom on June 19, 1865. Sponsored the first Off- Broadway Play “Freedom Days” by Modern Times Theater to a sell-out crowd at Louisville High School Auditorium Sponsored and supported Girl Scouts Troop in Winston County Co-Sponsored the first ever M.L. King JR motorcade and the Annual M.L. King JR Holiday Celebration with the Winston County NAACP Branch The Winston County Voters League meets the 4th Monday night. Membership dues are $10 yearly and monthly dues are $5. Interested persons are welcome to attend meetings, to join and to participate in creating a healthy and vibrant Winston County. The League is available to provide information on topics that affect all citizens. It is involved in all aspects of county, state and federal government. “Our main focus and mission is to register every eligible person, to educate the voters on the issues so they will participate in voting in every election. In keeping with this mission, the League held a Forum for School Board candidates for Districts 3 and 4 on February 28, 2012,” stated Claudell Weaver. Officers are Linda Hampton, President, Claudell Weaver, Vice President, Janice Hopkins, Secretary, Letitia Jackson, Assistant Secretary and Renee Hampton, Treasurer.