WLCTC holds annual awards banquet

By Daniel Brunty The Winston County Journal

The Winston-Louisville Career & Technology Center held their annual Awards Banquet this past Thursday, May 10 at Lake Tiak O’ Khata.

The yearly event is held to recognize the efforts of students of the center under the tutelage of their staff. The event started at 6 p.m. with a welcome from Career & Technology Director James Robert Webb. After the welcome, Webb introduced the SkillsUSA Team for the reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance.

Immediately following the pledge, Emily Mills sang the National Anthem for the delight of the crowd. After a prayer and a moment of silence, dinner was served to the attending guests.

After the dinner, Webb announced they would begin with the presentation of the awards. Each instructor introduced the awards for their respective students and classes.

For the program of Career Pathway Technology, instructor Gail Massey announced the recipients for Outstanding Students. 1st Year Outstanding Student was Camera Hopkins, and the 2nd Year Outstanding Student was Brady Gookin. Next, instructor Helen Black introduced the outstanding students for Design Technology. Recipients for this award were Shenieka Triplett (1st Year) and Joni Hickman (2nd Year).

For the Health Science program, instructor Penny Wells presented outstanding student awards to Emily Mills (1st Year), Anna Claire Webb (1st Year), and Hayden Stokes (2nd Year).

Junes Sanders presented awards in the Business & Computer technology Program to Rhaheem Gibson (1st Year) and Zena Miller (2nd Year). In the Metal Fabrication program, instructor Shane McDaniel presented awards to Alex Hayes (1st Year) and Mitchell Boykin (2nd Year).

In the Construction program, Charles Rushing presented awards to Rebecca Rodman (1st Year) and Demarcus Carter (2nd Year). Jimmy Dempsey for the Automotive Technology program presented awards to Jordan Prisock (1st Year) and Ben Jones (2nd Year).

In the Forestry program, Stevie Herrington presented awards to Wyatt Roberts (1st Year) and Hunter Roberts (2nd Year). Jimmy Rushing presented awards for the Agricultural Power & Machinery to Sam Trosper (1st Year) and Levontae Glenn (2nd Year).

Once the presentation of awards was concluded, the scholarship presentations began. The first scholarship was the Nontraditional Scholarship, which was awarded to Elizabeth Hurt by Gloria Mason.

Up next was the Pete Livingston Scholarship, which is awarded in honor of Livingston. Mr. Rick McDaniel presented the scholarship to recipient Deshawnna Hardin.

The next set of scholarships was the ECCC Scholarships, which are awarded to students who have received 1st place in school competitions. ECCC Workforce Education Counselor Amanda Walton was on hand to present the scholarships.

Once the scholarships were presented, the night’s ceremonies concluded. If you have any questions regarding the awards or info about WLCTC, you may contact 662-773-6152.